Time Travel Thursday

I wanted to do something a bit different on my blog on a Thursday, and so after a bit of research I saw on a couple of blogs that people post what they were doing this time last year or a few years ago (The Day After), and others where they put what they are reading now compared to this time last year, and I thought that now that I have a good year’s worth of reading under my belt that I would join in the time travel and compare what I am reading now to what I was reading last year. I have always enjoyed reading, but it wasn’t until lockdown that I really started to get back into it (hence this blog and my bookstagram were started in June 2020).

So for my first Time Travel Post here is what I was reading last year November 2020:

Book Description From Goodreads:

“A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

Debut novelist Deborah Harkness has crafted a mesmerizing and addictive read, equal parts history and magic, romance and suspense. Diana is a bold heroine who meets her equal in vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, and gradually warms up to him as their alliance deepens into an intimacy that violates age-old taboos. This smart, sophisticated story harks back to the novels of Anne Rice, but it is as contemporary and sensual as the Twilight series-with an extra serving of historical realism.”
Book Description From Goodreads:

“‘If I had my way, every idiot who goes around with Merry Christmas on his lips, would be boiled with his own pudding, and buried with a stake of holly through his heart. Merry Christmas? Bah humbug!’

Introduction and Afterword by Joe Wheeler
To bitter, miserly Ebenezer Scrooge, Christmas is just another day. But all that changes when the ghost of his long-dead business partner appears, warning Scrooge to change his ways before it’s too late.

Part of the Focus on the Family Great Stories collection, this abridged edition features an in-depth introduction and discussion questions by Joe Wheeler to provide greater understanding for today’s reader. “A Christmas Carol” captures the heart of the holidays like no other novel.”

I was between these two books. I had just finished reading A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness and was about to start A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I obviously wanted to start reading about Christmas fairly early on!

Fast forward to today, November 2021:


Book Description From Goodreads:

“Azrael, the Angel of Death, knows pain. The deaths of his mother and sister, as well as his harsh experiences in the Watch Guard at age twelve, have brutally shaped him into the most feared assassin in all of Pandaren. Azrael’s role as a Hunter requires him to search for those with magic, called Spectrals, which he is happy to do. Hunting allows him to pursue his true goal—exacting revenge on the Fire Spectral who altered the course of his life.

Azrael’s obsession with revenge and power leads him to undergo an experimental procedure that gives him magic, but when this procedure has unexpected and dangerous side effects, he becomes a liability to the Hunters and the Watch Guard. Rescued by the people he has sworn to eliminate, Azrael finds himself questioning everything he once believed as years of secrets and lies are exposed. His very nature is challenged as he battles unfamiliar emotions and navigates relationships that contradict the heart of a killer.

Can the Angel of Death have a conscience? Can Azrael?

Chasing the Darkness is an escape to a land of magic, sword fights, and love, with memorable characters who must face the darkness within and journey down a path of destruction or redemption.”

I am currently reading Chasing the Darkness by Cassie Sanchez. I am really enjoying it and will be sad when I come to the end (which will be soon!).

A year on and I am still on the Fantasy genre, but I haven’t quite made it on to the Christmas stories yet!

Do let me know if you also do the same thing on your blog then I can give you a shout out next week!

#bookstagram #bibliophile #igreads #currentlyreading #bookreview #instaread #lovetoread #booksarelife #readingisfundamental #whatimreading #bookreviewer #bookaddicts #bookpost #tbrpile #justread #bookishphotography #whattoreadnext #readallday #bookworms #booksofinstagram #bookwormproblems #bookaholic #bookpic #newreads #booknerd #timetravelthursday #pastreads

“book”, “read”, “book review”, “book blog”, “popular”, “recommended”, “easy read”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “reading slump”,”entertaining”, “what should I read next”

1 thought on “Time Travel Thursday

  1. Pingback: What Bookish Things Have I Been Up To This Week? | Budget Tales Book Blog

Leave a comment