Friday Favourites

Hosted by Geeky Galaxy I thought that this looked like an interesting meme to get involved with. It involves writing a list of as many favourites (or least favourites!) as you want for that week’s prompt. This week it is Winter Reads/Wintery Covers.

Here are my top 3 Wintery Reads/Wintery Covers:

56935099. sy475

The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse (click here for my review)

Book Description From Goodreads:

EVERYONE’S IN DANGER. ANYONE COULD BE NEXT.

An imposing, isolated hotel, high up in the Swiss Alps, is the last place Elin Warner wants to be. But she’s taken time off from her job as a detective, so when she receives an invitation out of the blue to celebrate her estranged brother’s recent engagement, she has no choice but to accept.

Arriving in the midst of a threatening storm, Elin immediately feels on edge. Though it’s beautiful, something about the hotel, recently converted from an abandoned sanatorium, makes her nervous – as does her brother, Isaac.

And when they wake the following morning to discover his fiancée Laure has vanished without a trace, Elin’s unease grows. With the storm cutting off access to and from the hotel, the longer Laure stays missing, the more the remaining guests start to panic.

But no-one has realized yet that another woman has gone missing. And she’s the only one who could have warned them just how much danger they’re all in . . . “

You can’t really get more wintery than in the Swiss Alps. Not only is the setting cold, but so is the whole theme. Nothing about this book exudes warmth! The perfect winter read!

36156268. sx318

A Court Of Frost And Starlight by Sarah J Maas (click here for my review)

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Months after the explosive events in A Court of Wings and Ruin, Feyre, Rhys, and their companions are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can’t keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated–scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.”

This whole book is preparing for Winter Solstice and so has the perfect wintery, magical feel to it. It was a novella compared to the other books in the series and it was my least favourite of all the books, however it was still an excellent read and one that I wouldn’t have wanted to have missed out on!

37642030. sy475

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley (see below for my review on Goodreads)

Book Description From Goodreads:

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?”

My review on Goodreads:

I saw this book around and waited ages for it to become available from the library. It didn’t disappoint. I really enjoyed the way that it was written. It was so different to anything I have read before. I loved the way that you didn’t even know who was murdered, let alone who the murderer was! I was gripped from the beginning and throughout the book was not only trying to work out who done it, but who it was done to! All the characters had shady pasts which made it that much harder! An excellent read that I would highly recommend.

Rated 5/5

Set in cold Scotland with a blizzard on New Year’s Eve, this is a very wintery, cold tale and one that I instantly fell in love with! I have since read The Guest List and am eagerly awaiting her next book The Paris Apartment!

What do you think of this list? Have you read any of them?

#bookstagram #bibliophile #igreads #currentlyreading #bookreview #instaread #lovetoread #booksarelife #readingisfundamental #whatimreading #bookreviewer #bookaddicts #bookpost #tbrpile #justread #bookishphotography #whattoreadnext #readallday #bookworms #booksofinstagram #bookwormproblems #bookaholic #bookpic #newreads #booknerd #fridayfavourites #winterreads


“book”, “read”, “book review”, “book blog”, “popular”, “recommended”, “easy read”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “mystery”, “reading slump” “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “what winter reads would you recommend”

2 thoughts on “Friday Favourites

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s