Top 10 Tuesday

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is top-ten-tuesday-logo-1.png

It’s Top Ten Tuesday! Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, this weeks Top 10 is a freebie so I have chosen 10 Winter/Festive Reads:

59667746. sy475

The Wildest Hunt by Jo Zebedee

Book Description From Goodreads:

“A long-dead child.
An artist who paints the fae.
An ancient estate on a blood-filled land.

The commission was close to Amelia’s dream: a cosy cottage in Donegal over Christmas and the chance to paint the beautiful Glenveagh estate. But when the weather closes in and the country shuts down, a ritual begins – one that traps Amelia in its circles of magic.

Stranded in a place where iron is power, her heart can no longer be trusted and the land itself is a weapon, Amelia’s survival depends on unravelling the truth of a decades-old death. Even if it draws the same ancient danger to herself. “

58675277. sy475

Cole For Christmas by Janet Raye Stevens

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Easy going event coordinator Katy Costa is called in last minute to sub for her perfectionist sister at a Christmas Eve wedding in Portland, Maine. Nice guy chef Cole St. Onge takes over from his temperamental boss for the same event.

The problem? Each thinks the other is their prickly counterpart and they expect fireworks when they meet. It’s the sparks that fly between them that’s unexpected. And unwelcome—Katy’s skittish after a bad breakup. Left at the altar, Cole’s sworn off women for good. Mix in an unexpected snowstorm, an accident-prone groom, Katy’s self-pitying ex making trouble, a matchmaking grandma, and lots of mistletoe, and what’s supposed to be a magical holiday affair fast becomes a Christmas nightmare.

Forced to team up to put out the many fires, the blaze between Cole and Katy burns brighter as the evening wears on. Can they ignore their growing attraction and keep their relationship strictly professional? Or will they give in to the mistletoe and say I do to a Christmas kiss that promises more to come in the new year? “

56935099. sy475

The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Half-hidden by forest and overshadowed by threatening peaks, Le Sommet has always been a sinister place. Long plagued by troubling rumors, the former abandoned sanatorium has since been renovated into a five-star minimalist hotel.

An imposing, isolated getaway spot high up in the Swiss Alps is the last place Elin Warner wants to be. But Elin’s taken time off from her job as a detective, so when her estranged brother, Isaac, and his fiancée, Laure, invite her to celebrate their engagement at the hotel, Elin really has no reason not to accept.

Arriving in the midst of a threatening storm, Elin immediately feels on edge–there’s something about the hotel that makes her nervous. And when they wake the following morning to discover Laure is missing, Elin must trust her instincts if they hope to find her. With the storm closing off all access to the hotel, the longer Laure stays missing, the more the remaining guests start to panic.

Elin is under pressure to find Laure, but no one has realized yet that another woman has gone missing. And she’s the only one who could have warned them just how much danger they are all in. . .”

44090922. sy475

Christmas Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Book Description From Goodreads:

“’Tis the season for change and Becky Brandon (née Bloomwood) is embracing it, returning from the States to live in the charming village of Letherby and working with her best friend, Suze, in the gift shop of Suze’s stately home. Life is good, especially now that Becky takes time every day for mindfulness—even if that only means listening to a meditation tape while hunting down online bargains.

But Becky still adores the traditions of Christmas: Her parents hosting, carols playing on repeat, her mother pretending she made the Christmas pudding, and the neighbors coming ’round for sherry in their terrible holiday sweaters. Things are looking cheerier than ever, until Becky’s parents announce they’re moving to ultra-trendy Shoreditch—unable to resist the draw of craft beer and smashed avocados—and ask Becky if she’ll host this year. What could possibly go wrong?

Becky’s sister demands a vegan turkey, her husband insists that he just wants aftershave (again), and little Minnie needs a very specific picnic hamper: Surely Becky can manage all this, as well as the surprise appearance of an old boyfriend–turned–rock star and his pushy new girlfriend, whose motives are far from clear. But as the countdown to Christmas begins and her bighearted plans take an unexpected turn toward disaster, Becky wonders if chaos will ensue, or if she’ll manage to bring comfort and joy to Christmas after all.”

49649247. sx318 sy475

The Ghost Of Christmas Past by Angie Fox

Book Description From Goodreads:

From NY Times Bestselling Author, Angie Fox, a hauntingly fun holiday addition to the USA TODAY bestselling Southern Ghost Hunter series

She needs a Christmas miracle…

Verity Long is ready to deck the halls, jingle some bells, and maybe, just maybe have a merry Christmas with her boyfriend’s stuffy family. Truly, if she doesn’t extend the proverbial olive branch to the overbearing Wydells, she’s afraid she’ll hit them over the head with it.

But when her boyfriend’s mother pulls a shocking stunt, Verity finds herself with a big decision to make. And if that’s not enough, there’s an unexpected guest at her door. It’s the ghost of the woman who helped rescue Verity’s pet skunk three years ago that very night. And now she’s there to change Verity’s life as well.

*A “between the books” holiday story you don’t want to miss!

5326

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

37642030. sy475

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

Book Description From Goodreads:

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?”

17158711

Miss Kane’s Christmas by Caroline Mickelson

Book Description From Goodreads:

“With Christmas only three days away, Carol Claus agrees to her father’s request that she leave the North Pole on a mission to help save Christmas. Joining single father Ben Hanson and his children for the holidays seems an easy enough task until Santa informs her that Ben is the man behind the disturbing new book ‘Beyond Bah Humbug: Why Lying to Your Children about Santa Claus is a Bad Idea’.

Posing as Miss Kane, the children’s new nanny, Carol pulls out all the stops to show Ben how fun Christmas can be, all the while struggling to understand how one man could hate the holidays so much. How could she, Santa’s only daughter, be so attracted to a man who refuses to believe her father exists?

**Please note – this book was originally titled Carol’s Christmas**”

51944451. sx318 sy475

A Poisoning in Piccadilly by Lynda Wilcox

Book Description From Goodreads:

“London, New Year’s Eve 1923, and Lady Eleanor Bakewell dances with American millionaire Henry T Eisenbach. When he dies at her feet she suspects poison, and the police suspect her.

But the vital documents Henry had brought with him for the British Government have gone missing, and Military Intelligence now suspect her, too.

With the threat of an arrest imminent, Eleanor must prove herself a Bright Young Thing in every sense in order to uncover the real killer.

A Poisoning In Piccadilly is a high-spirited romp through 1920s London, featuring fast cars, feisty women, and the men who love them both.”

55751060. sx318

Christmas Spirit by Morgana Best

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Live. Laugh. Lava.
Prudence Wallflower is a human volcano, and like Pompeii, she is about to blow.
But hot flashes are only one of Prudence’s problems. She is a clairvoyant … who has never seen a ghost. Despite Prudence connecting people with their deceased loved ones through the impressions she receives from the dead, her professional reputation is on the edge of eruption.
But when the ghost of a gorgeous detective appears and demands Prudence solve a murder, it’s her romantic life, not her reputation, which is about to explode.”

What would be on your list?

Happy Tuesday!

#bookstagram #bibliophile #igreads #currentlyreading #bookreview #instaread #lovetoread #booksarelife #readingisfundamental #whatimreading #bookreviewer #bookaddicts #bookpost #tbrpile #justread #bookishphotography #whattoreadnext #readallday #bookworms #booksofinstagram #bookwormproblems #bookaholic #bookpic #newreads #booknerd #toptentuesday #winterreads #festivereads

“book”, “read”, “book review”, “book blog”, “recommended”, “easy read”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “mystery”, “reading slump” “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “christmas books”, “winter books”

6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

    1. Emily Jane Post author

      I loved the Hunting Party and The Guest List. I’m hoping that for Christmas I’ve got a pre order of her new book coming out in February (?) The Paris Apartment. Poisoning in Piccadilly was great – I got it free on my Kindle to make it even better 😂.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. JdV

        I’m currently reading an ARC of The Paris Apartment. It’s brilliant. I’m going to look for Poisoning in Piccadilly now😃

        Like

    1. Emily Jane Post author

      I have re read it for the past two years but I am not sure that I will have the time this year unfortunately. May have to read it in the New Year!

      Thank you. It won’t let me resubmit 😦 No idea how that happened.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: What Bookish Things Have I been Up To This Week? | Budget Tales Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s