Time Travel Thursday

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is tea-party-2.png

It’s Time Travel Thursday! This is where I take a look back at what I was reading this time last year (or the year before or the year before that…) and compare it to what I am reading now.

This time last year (9 December 2020) I was reading my free Kindle Christmas books:

The Cornish Village School Christmas Wishes by Kitty Wilson

Book Description From Goodreads:

It’s the most wonderful time of the year in Penmenna…

Teaching assistant Alice has sworn off men, which is fine because with Christmas coming she’s super busy organising the school Nativity. This should be a blast with the help of best friend and village vicar, Dan – if she can just ignore those more-than-just-a-friend feelings she’s developed for him…

Dan is more than happy to help Alice – his secret crush – but not only is his beloved Granny Annie about to be made homeless, the church choir has disintegrated and he’s battling some dark demons from his past.

With meddling grannies and PTA wars thrown in the mix, can Alice and Dan overcome their past hurts to move forward? Will they be spending Christmas together as friends… or something more?”

A festive feel-good romance perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant and Holly Martin.

My review from Goodreads:

This was a cute Christmas short story with a bit of romance thrown in. I liked the characters and really wanted Alice to get her happy ending. The setting was the traditional village setting which added to the Christmassy feel.

Overall just a nice read.

Rated 3/5

The Mystery Of Santa Clause by Paul Moxham

Book Description From Goodreads:

Are you up for a thrilling adventure?

Set in 1950’s Britain, this standalone short adventure story will suit anyone who enjoys Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys or the Famous Five. A clean and wholesome read.

While spending their Christmas holidays with their grandparents in Scotland, Joe, Amy, and Sarah, along with their friend Will, stumble across an injured man dressed in a red Santa suit. With a storm quickly approaching, can the children rescue Santa Claus and save Christmas?

My review on Goodreads:

I was taken in by the cover and the blub, however this was a very short story and I wasn’t overly fussed by it. 

Rated 2/5

Fast Forward to today 9 December 2021:

The Cosy Christmas Chocolate Shop by Caroline Roberts

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Emma is the proud owner of The Chocolate Shop by the Sea, nestled in the heart of the cosy seaside village that’s become her home. With Christmas right around the corner, she and her assistant Holly are busy cooking up the locals’ festive favourites.

From cinnamon hot chocolates to reindeer lollipops, Christmas wouldn’t taste the same without a little cocoa magic. And for Emma it’s the perfect distraction from her romantic pains of the past. So when the shop’s miserly landlord threatens to hike up the rent, Emma’s Christmas and New Year suddenly look a lot less cheerful.

With the whole village rallying behind her – and loyal spaniel Alfie by her side – Emma’s determined to hold onto her chocolate-box dream.

The chocolate calendar countdown is on. Can Emma rescue her business and her broken heart?”

Christmas At The Gingerbread Cafe by Rebecca Raisin

Book Decription From Goodreads:

The icing on her Christmas cake!

Christmas is the season the Gingerbread Café was made for…but owner Lily couldn’t be feeling less merry if she tried. She’s spent another year dreaming of being whisked away on a sleigh-ride for two, but she’s facing festive season alone – again. And, just to give her another reason to feel anything other than candy-cane perky, a new shop across the road has opened… Not only is it selling baked goods, but the owner, with his seriously charming smile, has every girl in town swooning.

But Lily isn’t about to let her business crumble — the Gingerbread Café is the heart of the community, and she’s going to fight for it! This could be the Christmas that maybe, just maybe, all her dreams – even the someone-to-decorate-the-Christmas-tree-with ones – really do come true!”

As you can see I am very much on the same seasonal Christmas reading as last year. Instead of Kindle books though, these are both from the Library.

What were you reading this time last year or the year before (or the year before!)?

#bookstagram #bibliophile #igreads #currentlyreading #bookreview #instaread #lovetoread #booksarelife #readingisfundamental #whatimreading #bookreviewer #bookaddicts #bookpost #tbrpile #justread #bookishphotography #whattoreadnext #readallday #bookworms #booksofinstagram #bookwormproblems #bookaholic #bookpic #newreads #booknerd #timetravelthursday #pastreads

“book”, “read”, “book review”, “book blog”, “popular”, “recommended”, “easy read”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “reading slump”,”entertaining”, “christmas”, “historical fiction”, “short stories”, “what should I read next”

1 thought on “Time Travel Thursday

  1. Pingback: What Bookish Things Have I been Up To This Week? | Budget Tales Book Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s