Stacking The Shelves/Library Loot

Welcome to my Stacking The Shelves/Library Loot post, hosted by Reading Reality (Stacking the Shelves) and The Captive Reader and Real Life Reading (Library Loot).

I have quite a lot of books that have been added this week. I have signed up to two Blog Tours, been to the library and downloaded some Kindle freebies (free at the time).

Blog Tour Books:

The Moose Paradox by Antti Tuomainen

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Insurance mathematician Henri Koskinen has finally restored order both to his life and to YouMeFun, the adventure park he now owns, when a man from the past appears – and turns everything upside down again. More problems arise when the park’s equipment supplier is taken over by a shady trio, with confusing demands. Why won’t Toy of Finland Ltd sell the new Moose Chute to Henri when he needs it as the park’s main attraction?

Meanwhile, Henri’s relationship with artist Laura has reached breaking point, and, in order to survive this new chaotic world, he must push every calculation to its limits, before it’s too late…

Absurdly funny, heart-stoppingly poignant and full of nail-biting suspense, The Moose Paradox is the second instalment in the critically acclaimed, pitch-perfect Rabbit Factor Trilogy and things are messier than ever…”

I am on the Blog Tour for this book on 31 October so keep your eyes peeled for my review on here, Amazon, Goodreads, Instagram, Facebook and Twitter!

Good Taste by Caroline Scott

Book Description:

“You can tell a lot about a person from what they like to eat..

When Stella Douglas, author of a much-loved but not very successful biography of a forgotten cookery writer, is summoned to see her editor in London, she is dreading being told her writing career is over before it’s even started. But much to her surprise, she finds she is being commissioned to write another book – this time a history of food in England and how the English like to eat. It’s to be quintessentially English and will remind English housewives of the old ways, and English men the glory of their country. The only problem is – all English food is really from elsewhere. 

So Stella sets about inviting recipes from all corners of England, in the hope of discovering a hidden culinary gem. But what she discovers is oatcakes and gravy and lots of lots of potatoes. 

Longing for something more thrilling, she heads off to speak to the nation’s housewives. But when her car breaks down and the dashing and charismatic Freddie springs to her rescue, she is led in a very different direction…

Full of wit and life, Good Taste is a story of discovery, of a modern England emerging from the past and one woman’s desire to make her own way as a modern woman.”

I am on the Blog Tour for this book on 21 October so keep your eyes peeled for my review on here, Amazon, Goodreads, Instagram, Facebook and Twitter!

Kindle Freebies (free at the time):

Waste Not, Want Not in Applewell by Lilac Mills

Book Description From Goodreads:

“George can’t throw anything away. But he’s in danger of throwing away this opportunity to be loved…

George Nightingale is a hoarder with a house full of junk. For years he’s kept it a secret, rarely leaving his house and keeping social interactions to a minimum, but his carefully balanced system is now under threat…

Nessa Millbrook can’t wait to get settled into her new home in quaint, rural Applewell. Everyone in the village is so friendly – except her neighbour, George, who wants nothing to do with her. But Nessa isn’t one to back down from a challenge and she’s determined to win George over.

The years have taught George to shield his heart and trust no one. Yet Nessa keeps reaching out to him – does he have the courage to take a chance, and reach back?

A gorgeously heartwarming romance with characters readers will fall in love with, perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Portia MacIntosh.”

The Night Raven by Sarah Painter

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Meet Lydia Crow…

Lydia has always known she has no power, especially next to her infamous and more-than-slightly dodgy family. Which is why she carved her own life as a private investigator far away from London.

When a professional snafu forces her home, the head of the family calls in a favour, and Lydia finds herself investigating the disappearance of her cousin, Maddie.

Soon, Lydia is neck-deep in problems: her new flatmate is a homicidal ghost, the intriguing, but forbidden, DCI Fleet is acting in a distinctly unprofessional manner, and tensions between the old magical families are rising.

The Crows used to rule the roost and rumours claim they are still the strongest.
The Silvers have a facility for lying and they run the finest law firm in London.
The Pearl family were costermongers and everybody knows that a Pearlie can sell feathers to a bird.
The Fox family… Well. The less said about the Fox family the better.

For seventy-five years, a truce between the four families has held strong, but could the disappearance of Maddie Crow be the thing to break it?

The Night Raven is the first book in Crow Investigations, an exciting new paranormal mystery series from bestselling author of magical fiction, Sarah Painter.”

My Library Book:

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Introducing an instant classic―master storyteller Neil Gaiman presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths.

Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting a bravura rendition of the great northern tales.

In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin’s son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki―son of a giant―blood brother to Odin and a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator.

Gaiman fashions these primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the legendary nine worlds and delves into the exploits of deities, dwarfs, and giants. Once, when Thor’s hammer is stolen, Thor must disguise himself as a woman―difficult with his beard and huge appetite―to steal it back. More poignant is the tale in which the blood of Kvasir―the most sagacious of gods―is turned into a mead that infuses drinkers with poetry. The work culminates in Ragnarok, the twilight of the gods and rebirth of a new time and people.

Through Gaiman’s deft and witty prose emerge these gods with their fiercely competitive natures, their susceptibility to being duped and to duping others, and their tendency to let passion ignite their actions, making these long-ago myths breathe pungent life again.”

My Son’s Library Books:

My Pet Book by Bob Staake

Book Description From Goodreads:

“Most pets are cats and dogs, but what happens when a boy wants a different kind of pet, one that doesn’t meow or bark? Bob Staake’s exuberant tale of a little boy and the pet of his dreams will appeal to anyone whose best friends are . . . books! Books make the perfect pets, the boy decides, and chooses a bright red one. When it goes missing, a lively adventure is in store for readers who love a happy ending. Soon kids everywhere will wish for a pet book of their very own.”

Maisy Goes To The Library by Lucy Cousins

Book Description From Goodreads:

“When Maisy goes to the library it seems like the perfect place to read her sparkly story. But there are so many distractions when you borrow a book – some of them extremely noisy! Maisy’s day in the library proves quite an adventure.”

Star in the Jar by Sam Hay

Book Description From Goodreads:

What would you do with a fallen star?

When a little boy stumbles across a lost star, he decides to take care of it, putting it in a jar and carrying it with him everywhere. But when the sky calls out for its missing star, can the little boy and his sister figure out a way to return the star to its friends in the sky…even if it means saying goodbye forever?

This warm-hearted and enchanting bedtime story celebrates the rewards of true friendship.

What have you been stacking your shelves with this week?

#bookstagram #bibliophile #igreads #currentlyreading #bookreview #instaread #lovetoread #booksarelife #readingisfundamental #whatimreading #bookreviewer #bookaddicts #bookpost #tbrpile #justread #bookishphotography #whattoreadnext #readallday #bookworms #booksofinstagram #bookwormproblems #bookaholic #bookpic #newreads #booknerd #stackingtheshelves #whatshouldIread #childrensbooks #library #amazonkindle #mythology #neilgaiman

“book”, “read”, “book blog”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “children’s books”

Advertisement

20 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves/Library Loot

  1. Greg

    Good Taste looks fun! I kind of want to tool around England now with her and discover whatever culinary delights she finds haha!

    Oh my gosh I remember Maisie. My kids loved those 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Emily Jane Post author

      Same! I was drawn in by the cover too. I will have to make sure that I have eaten before I read the book…

      She does seem to have been round a while. We shall see if he sits down long enough to enjoy them. His attention span is just getting shorter and shorter – which is a worry with him starting school in September!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Sunday Post | *Budget Tales Book Blog*

  3. Pingback: Sunday Salon | *Budget Tales Book Blog*

  4. WendyW

    Great haul, Emily. I love the premise for The Moose Paradox. These all look like books I would enjoy. I hope you enjoy them all, and your son enjoys his books!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Emily Jane Post author

      Thank you. It is the second one in a series and I read and enjoyed the first one; The Rabbit Factor. The titles and covers are great too aren’t they?!

      Thank you. I hope so too!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s