Library Book Review – The Perfect Murder by Peter James

Genre: Thriller

Number of Pages: 128

📖 PLOT SUMMARY FROM GOODREADS 📖 

Victor Smiley and his wife Joan have been married for nearly twenty years. Victor secretly loathes Joan more and more each day. Joan is bored by Victor, and his snoring drives her mad. Their marriage has reached a crisis point….

Victor decides there is only one way to get Joan out of his life forever, but he’s about to get a nasty surprise. As it turns out, Victor’s not the only one with murder in mind…..

💭 THOUGHTS 💭 

I wanted a short read from the library and this fitted the bill nicely. The title drew me in and the blurb sounded very interesting. I wasn’t disappointed. In fact I would say that it exceeded my expectations. 

The writing was light, engaging and I was quite happy to sit and read it in one sitting. It is rare for me to read a whole book in one sitting so I have to give extra points for that! I enjoyed the style of swapping between the points of view of the two main characters. It was always clear which perspective you were reading from and it all came together well. 

The chapters were fairly short and gave the story a good pace. There was quite a lot of detail delivered within a short space, but you never felt bogged down. For a short story it was well balanced and I loved the ending. I will admit that I was expecting it, but I still enjoyed it when it came.

There were lots of little bits to the story that when combined made it interesting. 

The characters were great. I enjoyed reading about how much they disliked one another. It made for an interesting read. You got to know about the characters through what they said to eachother and how they acted throughout the story. 

Lastly the settings. They were only lightly described as it was a character focused story. There was more detail when it was key to the story. 

Overall an enjoyable one sitting read.

⭐ Rated 5/5 ⭐

📝 FOR SHORTER REVIEWS SEE 📝

LinkedIn 

Goodreads

Instagram

Facebook – I have also posted in the following Book Groups – my personal Facebook page, Women Reading Great Books and Good Housekeeping Book Room.

Twitter/X

To keep up to date with my Book Reviews, Book Memes, Author Q and As and my Monthly Genre Goal Follow My Blog!

#books #bookstagram #book #booklover #reading #bookworm #bookstagrammer #read #bookish #booknerd #bookaddict #booksofinstagram #bibliophile #instabook #love #bookshelf #readersofinstagram #booksbooksbooks #bookaholic #reader #bookphotography #booklove #author  #literature #instabooks #booklovers #budgettalesbookblog #readingrecommendations  #blog #librarylovechallenge2024

“book”, “read”, “book blog”, “new”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “reading slump”, “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “book recommendations”, “book review”, “what books do you recommend”, “library book”