Palamedes PR – Book Review – Never-My-Name and Isn’t-My-Name naughty fairy twins by Colin Stern

Genre: Children’s Fiction

Number of pages: 32

Publisher: Brown Dog Books

Date of Publication: July 2022

My review summary: A cute story with some good rhyming sections.

đź“–PLOT SUMMARY FROM GOODREADSđź“–

“Never-my-name and Isn’t-my-name were naughty fairy twins. But Isn’t-my-name went missing, which is where my tale begins.”

When Never-my-name loses her fairy twin sister, Isn’t-my-name, while playing on the snowy mountainside, she fears she may never see her again.

Enlisting her fairy helpers, Never-my-name searches high and low but Isn’t-my-name is simply nowhere to be found.

What she doesn’t know is Isn’t-my-name has gone on an accidental adventure where the help of a tea-loving, ancient green dragon and a blast of his fiery breath may hold the key to her safe return.

Never-my-name and Isn’t-my-name: naughty fairy twins is a beautifully illustrated poem by author Colin Stern that will delight young children up to six years old.

With colourful characters and gentle humour, this fantastical fairytale is a classic in the making that will spark the imagination. The catchy rhythm and rhyme of this simple story, meanwhile, makes it perfect for reading aloud at bedtime … or any time.

đź’­THOUGHTSđź’­

This sounded like a cute children’s book and I was pleased when I was accepted onto the Tour. 

There were a mix of word lengths and difficulty meaning that it could cater for a wide age range of children. There were some good rhyming sections throughout the book. The rhyming didn’t carry on through the whole of the book so there was an interesting flow that was interrupted from time to time. It slowed you down and you were able to get more story. It did make it interesting to read as you got into a rhythm and then suddenly it was interrupted and you were given more information. 

The font was interesting and randomly changed in size and thickness. The words were all over the page, but it was always clear which bit you had to read next. 

The text was black, but integrated into the illustrations so had different coloured backgrounds behind the words. 

The illustrations were bright, bold and interesting. I loved the use of mixed media to make each picture. It meant that each time I looked at the pictures I saw something that I hadn’t seen before. 

The characters were cute and nice to read about. The fairy twins were obviously close and the dragon who initially came across as scary soon mellowed. 

Overall a cute story.

✏️ AUTHOR ✏️

21 02 24 Colin Stern, retired paediatrician turned author. Photos at his home in Wilton, Wiltshire.

For more than 40 years, until his retirement in 2005, Dr Colin Stern was one of the UK’s most respected paediatricians, both treating young patients and spearheading innovative areas of medical research at Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital. While he had excelled at literature in his youth, where he received guidance from none less than decorated British poet Siegfried Sassoon, it wasn’t until the tragic passing of his wife Ann, whom he cared for during her battle with dementia, that he once more turned to writing. His first work, poetry collection A Catafalque for Ann was quickly followed by an explosion of delightful children’s verse, inspired by the many tales he had told to his grandchildren. Since then he has expanded into medical memoir with Listening to Mother and has multiple new books in the works. He is based in Wiltshire, where he lives with his partner, Eileen. Visit http://www.ColinStern.co.uk

đź“ť FOR SHORTER REVIEWS SEE đź“ť

Amazon 

Waterstones

LinkedIn 

Goodreads

Instagram

Facebook – I have also posted in the following Book Groups – my personal Facebook page, Women Reading Great Books and Good Housekeeping Book Room.

Twitter/X

To keep up to date with my Book Reviews, Book Memes, Author Q and As and my Monthly Genre Goal Follow My Blog!

#bookstagram #bibliophile #bookworms #bookshelf #goodreads #reads #bookaholic #reader#bookstagram #booklover #reading #bookstagrammer #bookworm #bookish #readersofinstagram #booknerd #bookreview #bookrecommendations #booksofinstagram #booksbooksbooks #instabook #bookcommunity #bookblogger #bookphotography #booklove #bookclubq #budgettalesbookblog 

“book”, “read”, “book blog”, “new”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “reading slump”, “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “book recommendations”, “book review”, “what books do you recommend”

1 thought on “Palamedes PR – Book Review – Never-My-Name and Isn’t-My-Name naughty fairy twins by Colin Stern

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post | 🪷Budget Tales Book Blog🪷

Leave a comment