First Line Friday – The Secret Life of an Uncool Mum by Serena Terry

It’s First Line Friday! Hosted by Reading Is My Superpower, you write the first line of the book you are currently reading.

I am currently reading The Secret Life of an Uncool Mum by Serena Terry from the Library (on my Libby app).

Book Description From Goodreads:

From the creator of viral Tiktok sensation, Mammy Banter, comes a hilarious warts-and-all novel about modern motherhood – and how having it all sometimes isn’t what you think it might be.

She used to want it all.

Now she just wants a nap.

Tara Gallagher is knackered. She used to dream of being Beyoncé but suddenly she’s thirty-six – with three kids, a loving husband, a very boring job – and instead of headlining Coachella, she’s in her pyjamas on a Friday night, watching cheesy TV.

It’s time for a mommy makeover. She’s going to show her teenage daughter she’s still cool. She’s going to show her husband she’s still an absolute ride. She’s going to show her colleagues she’s still a Boss Bish.

But most of all, she’s going to prove to herself that she can still be a mom, still work full time, and still be Beyoncé…”

FIRST LINE:

“That’s Not Nutella

Everything is perfect. My house is perfect. My life is perfect. My children are perfect. My heart is full and at peace. Which can only mean one thing: the s**t is about to hit the fan.”

Would you carry on reading?

I am not very far into this book, but so far it is light and entertaining!

To keep up to date with my Book Reviews, Book Memes, Author Q and As and my Monthly Genre Goal Follow My Blog!

#books #bookstagram #book #booklover #reading #bookworm #bookstagrammer #read #bookish #booknerd #bookaddict #booksofinstagram #bibliophile #instabook #love #bookshelf #readersofinstagram #booksbooksbooks #bookaholic #reader #bookphotography #booklove #author  #literature #instabooks #booklovers #budgettalesbookblog #readingrecommendations  #blog 

“book”, “read”, “book blog”, “new”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “reading slump”, “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “book recommendations”, “book review”, “what books do you recommend”

12 thoughts on “First Line Friday – The Secret Life of an Uncool Mum by Serena Terry

  1. Nicole Santana

    Happy Saturday!
    Whew, it’s been a crazy week. I’m just now able to get to FLF. 😥
    I’m just starting No Place Like Home by Jess Mastorakos.
    “I don’t wanna go.” It was a simple statement, yet I worked very hard to keep a petulant pout off my lips as I looked at my manager in the mirror’s reflection.
    I hope you are having a wonderful weekend! 🙂❤️📚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Emily Jane Post author

      The days just go don’t they!

      That is a good opening. And interesting about the mirror bit. I hope that you get some time to read and are having a lovely weekend 😊 ❤️📚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Sunday Post | * Budget Tales Book Blog *

Leave a comment