Easter Reading – Book Review – The Great Eggscape by Jory John 

📖PLOT SUMMARY FROM GOODREADS📖

The Great Eggscape is when the Good Egg and his pals escape their carton and drop into the store for a morning of fun, enjoyed by everybody.

Well, almost everybody.

Shel (an egg) isn’t a huge fan of group activities, especially when he’s made to be “It” for a game of hide-and-seek. Nevertheless, Shel doesn’t want to let his friends down, so he reluctantly plays, anyway. But after a morning of hiding and seeking, somebody’s still missing. Will the dozen eggs friends ever be reunited? 

Find out in this hilarious egg hunt adventure that reminds us to break out of our shells and help our friends in need!

💭THOUGHTS💭  

I was trying to find something Easter themed on the Library App Libby and found this one. I am trying to read more children’s books so that I am able to provide reviews on a wider range of material. There is a bit of a gap between what I read and what I read to my 3 year old! 

The writing was good and detailed. Whilst it wasn’t rhyming, it had a good flow to it. One thing I would say is that the writing was all over the page. I would have preferred it to have been more ordered. 

With regards to the illustrations I liked the way that they themselves added to what was being said. This level of detail allowed you to spot something new each time you looked at them. 

I loved the egg characters and they have definitely got me in the mood for Easter!  

Lastly the settings. I loved the idea of the food produce coming alive in a shop. The shop setting complimented what was going on in the story and allowed the pictures to hold additional information as to what was being said.

Overall an enjoyable book. 

⭐Rated 4/5⭐

#bookstagram #instabook #bookphotography #igbooks #ilovereading #bookhaul #bookhoarder #bookaddiction #bookstoread #whattoread #fortheloveofbooks #bookblogging #bookpics #weekendreads #bookrecs #booknerdproblems #bookpictures #bookstagram #amreading #booksbooksbooks #instablog #booknerds #bookphotos #bibliophile #easterbook #childrensbook #library

“book”, “read”, “book blog”, “easy read”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “childrens book”, “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “what book do you recommend”, “easter themed book”