Sunday Salon

Welcome to my Sunday Salon post! Hosted by Readerbuzz this post is a chance to have a weekly bookish and non-bookish catch up with other bloggers.

Books that I have been reading this week:

If It Looks Like A Duck by Frank Malley

This is my Author’s Request book

American Royals by Katharine McGee (click for link to Goodreads)

One of my books from my TBR shelves!

My Book Of The Week That Took Part In This Week’s Memes Was:

If It Looks Like A Duck by Frank Malley

Memes that I have participated in this week:

Goodreads Monday – Hosted by me Budget Tales Book Blog

Top Ten Tuesday – Hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl

First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros – Hosted by Socrates Book Reviews

WWW Wednesday – Hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words

Goodreads Top 5 Wednesday – Hosted by Goodreads T5W group

Time Travel Thursday – Hosted by me Budget Tales Blog

Book Blogger Hop – Hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer

The Friday 56 – Hosted by Freda’s Voice

Let’s Talk Bookish – Hosted by Aria @ Book Nook Bits

Stacking the Shelves – Hosted by Reading Reality

Library Loot – Hosted by The Captive Reader and Real Life Reading

All Over Instagram – Hosted by me Budget Tales Book Blog

Places My Books Have Taken Me – Hosted by me Budget Tales Book Blog

Sunday Post – Hosted by Caffeinated Reviewer

What else has been happening this week:

So we have just had the final week of the Summer Holidays. I can’t believe that this time has come! My son is excited to start school though which is good. 

For our final week we have been fairly busy. On Bank Holiday Monday we went to Chartwell, the home of Winston Churchill, which was lovely. Such a beautiful house with great views! Tuesday we had a play date with one of my son’s new class mates which was nice, Wednesday we drove to Deal for a pub lunch and an outside paddling pool. It was so windy and the sea was very rough so we didn’t even contemplate going in! We also went to an Ice Cream Parlour and a walk along the pier. My partner went back to work on Thursday (he is a teacher so goes back a couple of days before the students) whilst my son and I had a quiet day that included a short walk to the library. On Friday we went to a 45 minute session to get to know the classroom that he will be in from Monday (!!) then went into Cranbrook for another library visit, a play in the playground and a milkshake. Saturday we went to a family BBQ and Sunday we had a quiet day sorting out school clothes!

Chartwell House

Chartwell Gardens

Chartwell Gardens

Chartwell Gardens

View across the Garden

Chartwell Gardens – a herd of cows!

Zoomed in picture of the calf

Deal Beach and Pier

Deal Beach

Deal Beach and Town

Deal Town

Deal Ice Cream Parlour – honestly it was the size of a vase!

Aurthur’s Cafe in Cranbrook for a Jaffa Cake Milkshake!

How has your week been?

#bookstagram #bibliophile #igreads #bookreview #instaread #lovetoread #booksarelife #readingisfundamental #whatimreading #bookreviewer #bookaddicts #bookpost #tbrpile #justread #bookishphotography #whattoreadnext #readallday #bookworms #booksofinstagram #bookwormproblems #bookaholic #bookpic #newreads #booknerd #bibliophile #library #sundaysalon #mystery #summerreading

“book”, “read”, “book review”, “book blog”,”recommended”, “easy read”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “entertaining”, “book meme”, “weekly wrap up”, “sunday salon”, “what books do you recommend”, “what books are popular on social media”, “what book should I read next”, “mystery”, “summer reading”

17 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

    1. Emily Jane Post author

      Thank you 🙂 Yay! I do the same with other blogs! It is lovely to see other parts of the world. I am really lucky where I am in the UK. I am an hours train ride from London, an hours ride away from the coast and I am surrounded by countryside and country houses.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Jinjer

    I never thought about Churchill’s home being a place one could visit! I looked at your pictures and Googled. It seems they were considering allowing the public to, finally, be allowed to see Churchill’s private bedroom. Did you see that on your tour? And what about the kitchen? I’m always interested in seeing vintage kitchens and butler’s pantries on these kind of historical home tours but for some reason they are often off limits! Drives me crazy.

    That ice cream!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Emily Jane Post author

      Yeah. Courtesy of his wife leaving it to the National Trust 😊 I love the National Trust! And I am so lucky to live near so many properties. We didn’t get to see the bedroom. A guide said that his wife didn’t want to allow it when the house was handed over.

      We did see the kitchen. I love a kitchen too. There were a few bits out and about and you could see the crockery. One of the best kitchens I’ve seen is Lanhydrock House in Cornwall. I went there on a school trip. It was huge and had lots of bits out!

      Honestly! I felt a bit sick by the end…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Sunday Post | *Budget Tales Book Blog*

Leave a comment