Book Blogger Hop – How long have you gone without reading?

Welcome to the Book Blogger Hop! Hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer this week the prompt is:

How long have you gone without reading? (submitted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer)

I used to read a fair amount when I was younger. As I got to Secondary School (aged 11) I no longer had the time to read. Once I left school and started work I read the odd book, but nothing too much.

I changed jobs when I was 23 and stopped reading (I worked longer hours, with longer travel times to and from work so I was often too tired to read). It wasn’t until the pandemic that I started reading again.

I set up my Blog in June 2021 and my reading journey began again, I was rarely without a book. I then got pregnant at the end of 2022 with my second son and lost my reading mojo. My son was born in July 2023 and my mojo has more or less returned. Baby brain and lack of sleep however, has meant that I can really only read 2 books at the same time and even that is a bit dangerous!

Since July I have rarely been without a book. Once I finish a book I review it then I am straight on to the next one! I have books on my phone so I am never without a book!

What about you?

To keep up to date with my Book Reviews, Book Memes, Author Q and As and my Monthly Genre Goal Follow My Blog!

#bookstagram #bibliophile #bookworms #bookaddict #bookshelf #goodreads #reads #bookaholic #reader#bookstagram #booklover #reading #bookstagrammer #bookworm #bookish #readersofinstagram #booknerd #bookreview #bookrecommendations #booksofinstagram #booksbooksbooks #instabook #bookcommunity #bookblogger #bookphotography #booklove #bookclubq #budgettalesbookblog

“book”, “read”, “book blog”, “new”, “don’t miss out”, “fiction”, “reading slump”, “entertaining”, “what should I read next”, “book recommendations”, “book review”, “what books do you recommend”

16 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop – How long have you gone without reading?

      1. lyndhurstlaura

        University spoiled reading for me in some ways, when I had to speed-read books in time for the next seminar. I got over it though, and now although I read for pleasure I’ve always got an eye out for something to put in my review. University taught me that, so it worked out fine in the end. 🙂😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Emily Jane Post author

        When I speed read I don’t take anything in. Otherwise I would have done English A Level 😂 I do like the level of detail you go into when at school. That is definitely a positive ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

      3. lyndhurstlaura

        I know what you mean. University taught me how to skim and pick up the important bits, but I don’t recommend it for leisure reading. If I’m reading something but not particularly enjoying it I will admit to skimming, just to see if it improves. It’s a useful skill at times, but I prefer to really get into a book to the point where I’m engrossed and don’t want to put it down.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Emily Jane Post author

        I would like to skim read information like the weekly school letter I get from my son’s school😂 I do like getting engrossed too otherwise I don’t see the point 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. jennielyse

    It’s amazing how school and work dictate our lives and extra curricular activities.

    I also had a friend who couldn’t read why she was pregnant. She tried, but until her was two weeks past her delivery, she had to give up on reading for a while. Hormones, am I right?

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Literary Feline

    I am glad you found your way back to reading. 🙂 Pregnancy didn’t impact my reading too much (maybe in the last two months), but my reading did slow down considerably after my daughter was born for about a year or so. Mine’s 12 now and sleep sometimes still isn’t easy for me, but it does get better. LOL

    Have a happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Emily Jane Post author

      Same. I was a bit worried that it was gone forever. I wasn’t reading the same with my first son so I didn’t notice 🤣

      I hope so. My 5 year old can be iffy 😂

      Thank you. You too 😊

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Sunday Post | ❄️Budget Tales Book Blog❄️

Leave a comment